Nvidia announces next-gen RTX 40 series GPUs – RTX 4090 and RTX 4080: up to 4x performance, DLSS 3, and more – Times of India

After much wait, Nvidia has finally announced the next generation of its GPUs – the RTX 40 series. The first two GPUs of the series are RTX 4090 and RTX 4080. These two RTX 40 series graphics cards are based on Nvidia’s new ‘Ada Lovelace‘ architecture, promising up to 4x performance gains compared to the previous ‘Ampere’ architecture while also improving energy efficiency.
Ada Lovelace, the third generation of Nvidia’s RTX lineup is named after the English mathematician and writer of the same name. Nvidia says it brings vast improvements in ray tracing with support for the third-gen Deep Learning Super Sampling, rather known as DLSS 3.
Nvidia’s new RTX 4090 sits at the top of the ‘Ada Lovelace’ lineup. It comes with 24GB of GDDR6X memory and claims to be 2-4x faster than the RTX 3090Ti while having the same energy consumption.
The graphic card features 16,384 CUDA Cores, having a base clock speed of 2.23GHz with a boost speed of up to 2.52GHz, 1,321 Tensor-TFLOPs, 191 RT-TFLOPs, and 83 Shader-TFLOPs. The RTX 4090 has 76 billion transistors in total. Nvidia recommends a power supply of at least 850 watts.
The RTX 4080 comes in two models – 12GB and 16GB GDDR6X memory variants
The 12GB model of RTX 4080 includes 7,680 CUDA Cores, a 2.31GHz base clock speed, 639 Tensor-TFLOPs, 92 RT-TFLOPs, and 40 Shader-TFLOPs. Meanwhile, the 16GB model has 9,728 CUDA Cores, a base clock of 2.21GHz that boosts up to 2.51GHz, 780 Tensor-TFLOPs, 113 RT-TFLOPs, and 49 Shader-TFLOPs of power.
Nvidia recommends at least 700W of power for the RTX 4080 12GB variant, while the 16GB model has a recommended power supply of 750W.
The two GPUs – RTX 4090 and the 16GB model of RTX 4080 – will have a founders edition. The GeForce RTX 4090 and RTX 4080 (16GB) graphics cards will come with a new in-house design.
The three new RTX 40-series graphics cards will support new Nvidia ShadowPlay, enabling gameplay capture at up to 8K resolution at 60fps in HDR. Further, Nvidia is also using the latest encoders (NVENC), bringing support for AV1 encoding with improved efficiency for live streams.
DLSS 3 is the next generation of Nvidia’s upscaling technology, which can multiply the performance by up to 4X over brute-force rendering. At the launch of RTX 4090, which is October, more than 35 games and apps will support the DLSS 3.
The RTX 4090 comes at Rs 1,77,000, and will be available starting October 12. Meanwhile, the 12GB model of the RTX 4080 costs Rs 99,500 and the 16GB one comes for Rs 1,33,000 and both the graphics cards will be available in November.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles

%d bloggers like this: